Prof. Richard Falk, recipient of NAPF’s 2023 Lifetime Achievement Award

On Thursday, May 25, 2023, the Nuclear Age Peace Foundation honored Professor Richard Falk with its 2023 Lifetime Achievement Award.

Professor Falk is a renowned scholar, philosopher, activist, historian, and our favorite peace hero. He is the Albert G. Milbank Professor Emeritus of International Law at Princeton University where he was an active member of the faculty for 40 years (1961-2001). He is a Research Associate at the Orfalea Center of Global Studies at the University of California, Santa Barbara, and a Fellow of the Tellus Institute.

Richard has written more than 75 books, including This Endangered Planet: Prospects and Proposals for Human Survival, which was selected in 2022 by Foreign Affairs magazine as one of only six Books for the Century. His memoir, Public Intellectual: The Life of a Citizen Pilgrim, was published in 2021. His accomplishments are seemingly endless.

The evening event included music, poetry, touching tributes, and above all, his own wise remarks. The booklet of messages from Richard’s friends, far and near, which was shared during the evening, can be found here.

Professor Falk stands in a class of his own and we are all richer for having him in our lives. We couldn’t be more proud to present our 2023 Lifetime Achievement Award to our dear comrade, teacher, and mentor, Professor Richard Falk.

Program, page 1

Jimmy Hara (Vice Chair of NAPF Board of Directors) and Diane Hara

Emlyn and Nemanja Hughes

Cynthia Lazaroff, Richard Falk, Ivana Nikolić Hughes

Richard Falk with Father Larry Gosselin

Vincent Stanley, delivering remarks via video

Program, page 2

Ron Dexter and Jill Dexter, Secretary of NAPF Board of Directors

Redd Coltrane and Nick Kathios

Richard Falk and Hilal Elver

Cynthia Lazaroff, Ivana Hughes, Sandy Jones, and Carol Warner

Frank Bognar, Chair of NAPF Board of Directors

Cynthia Lazaroff, Member of Board of Directors

Sandy Jones and Hal Maynard

Mara Sweeney, Member of Board of Directors

Nemanja Hughes

Zeynep Zileli, Richard Falk, and Hilal Elver

Perie Longo, Member of Board of Directors

Photos by Rick Carter