Distinguished Peace Leadership Honorees

David Krieger

David Krieger (2019) is a co-founder of the Nuclear Age Peace Foundation and served as NAPF President from 1982-2019.

Beatrice Fihn (2018), is Executive Director of the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN), winner of the 2017 Nobel Peace Prize.

Ira Helfand, M.D. (2017) is co-president of International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War, winner of the 1985 Nobel Peace Prize.

Noam Chomsky (2016) was honored for his decades of thought leadership around issues of peace and nuclear disarmament.

Setsuko Thurlow

Setsuko Thurlow (2015), an atomic bomb survivor, was honored for her advocacy to abolish nuclear weapons.

Medea Benjamin

Medea Benjamin (2014) was recognized for her bold and persistent challenges to the war system.

Rabbi Leonard Beerman

Rabbi Leonard Beerman (2013) was honored for his interfaith leadership for peace, justice and nuclear disarmament.

Tony de Brum

Senator Tony de Brum (2012) was honored for his efforts on behalf of the Marshall Island victims of nuclear testing.

Tadatoshi Akiba (2011) the former mayor of Hiroshima, was recognized for his leadership for a world free of nuclear weapons.

Rev. James Lawson (2010) was honored for his lifelong commitment to nonviolence education and action.

Prof. Glenn Paige (2010) was honored for his personal transformation and leadership for a non-killing global society.

Riane Eisler (2009) was honored for her commitment to building a culture of peace through education, social justice, and gender equality.

Rev. George Regas (2008) was recognized for his interfaith leadership for peace, justice, and nuclear disarmament.

Peter Yarrow, Paul (Noel) Stookey and Mary Travers (2007) were recognized for their activism and songs of peace and justice.

Blase Bonpane

Blase Bonpane (2006) was honored as a persistent and eloquent voice for peace and justice.

Daniel Ellsberg (2005) was recognized for his courageous stances against war, militarism, government secrecy and nuclear weapons.

Walter Cronkite

Walter Cronkite (2004) was honored for the high level of integrity he brought to broadcast journalism.

Jonathan Schell

Jonathan Schell (2003) was recognized for his clear, intelligent and tireless voice for a nuclear weapons-free world.

Arthur N.R. Robinson

His Excellency Arthur N.R. Robinson (2002), then President of Trinidad and Tobago, was honored for his key role in the creation of a permanent International Criminal Court.

Dr. Robert Woetzel (2002) was honored posthumously for his lifelong work to establish the International Criminal Court.

Hafsat Abiola (2001) was honored for her courage and strength in working for democracy and human rights in Africa.

Craig Kielburger (2001) was recognized for his leadership in working to end child exploitation and to empower youth around the world.

King Hussein of Jordan

His Majesty King Hussein of Jordan (2000) was honored posthumously for his tireless efforts to bring peace to the Middle East.

Gen. George Lee Butler

General George Lee Butler (1999) was honored for his courageous and outspoken commitment to the abolition of nuclear weapons.

Jody Williams

Jody Williams (1998) was honored for her successful leadership of the International Campaign to Ban Landlines.

Yehudi Menuhin

Lord Yehudi Menuhin (1997) was honored for his outspoken advocacy of human dignity.

Anne and Paul Ehrlich (1996) was honored for their work on environmental consequences of nuclear war.

Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh (1995) was recognized for his distinguished service to humanity.

Dr. Helen Caldicott

Dr. Helen Caldicott (1994) was honored for her courageous and inspirational efforts to end the nuclear arms race.

Carl Sagan

Dr. Carl Sagan (1993) was recognized for his outspoken advocacy of peace and nuclear disarmament. 

Mairead Corrigan Maguire (1992) was chosen for her moral leadership and commitment to social justice and nonviolence.

His Holiness the XIVth Dalai Lama, Tenzin Gyasto (1991), was selected for his advocacy of universal responsibility and nonviolence.

Archbishop Desmond Tutu (1990) was recognized for his leadership in the non-violent struggle against apartheid. 

Jacques-Yves Cousteau

Captain Jacques-Yves Cousteau (1989) as honored for his advocacy of ocean life and the rights of future generations.

David Russell Lange

Right Honorable David Russell Lange (1988), then Prime Minister of New Zealand, and the people of New Zealand were recognized for creating and protecting New Zealand’s Nuclear-free status.

R.E. “Ted” Turner (1987) was honored for innovative efforts in initiating the Goodwill Games and founding the Better World Society.

Rodrigo Carazo

Dr. Rodrigo Carazo (1986) was honored for his role in founding the U.N. University for Peace.

Adm. Gene La Rocque

Admiral Gene R. LaRocque (1985) was acclaimed for his courage in proposing alternative U.S. security polices.

Claiborne Pell (1984) was recognized for his direct dialogue with Soviet Leader Andropov when communications were not otherwise open between the U.S. and USSR.