2018 Evening for Peace

Our 35th Annual Evening for Peace took place on October 21. We honored Beatrice Fihn and the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN) with our Distinguished Peace Leadership Award.

Scroll down for more details of the event, including photos, audio, video, and more.

Beatrice Fihn

Beatrice Fihn is a humble hero and a bright light leading today’s efforts to abolish nuclear weapons. She is the Executive Director of ICAN, recipient of the 2017 Nobel Peace Prize. Fihn has written extensively on weapons law, humanitarian law, civil society engagement in diplomacy and multilateral institutions, and gender perspective on disarmament work. She is the driving force behind ICAN’s political strategy and fundraising efforts and has represented ICAN throughout the world.

International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons

ICAN is a global coalition with more than 500 partner organizations in 101 countries. The Nuclear Age Peace Foundation is a proud partner among those organizations. ICAN was honored with this year’s Nobel Peace Prize for its efforts to advance the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, which was adopted by a vote of 122 to 1 at the United Nations. The treaty will outlaw the use, threat of use, production and possession of nuclear weapons.

Students with Nobel Peace Prize


Attendees had the opportunity to pose for a photo with ICAN’s Nobel Peace Prize medal. Click here for our Nobel portrait gallery (all Nobel photos are by Rick Carter).

Click here for a photo gallery from the evening, with photos by Rick Carter, Sydnee Jewett, and Rick Wayman.

Audio and Video

The MP3 audio of Beatrice Fihn’s acceptance speech is here.

A transcript of Beatrice Fihn’s speech is here.

A video of Beatrice Fihn’s speech is here.

Special Thanks to our Lead Sponsors and Honorary Committee Members

Evan and Pat Aptaker
Laurie Ashton, J.D. and Lynn Lincoln Sarko, J.D.
Steven and Diana Charles
Jill and Ron Dexter
Sarah and Chuck Genuardi
Sally and Mark Hamilton
Jimmy H. Hara, M.D. and Diane Hara
Terry and Mary Kelly
Judith Lipton, M.D. and David Barash, Ph.D.
Lawrence Markworth and Sue Pollack
Gloria Montebruno Saller, Ph.D. and Timothy Saller
Santa Barbara Foundation
Maryan Schall
Diane Meyer Simon
Lisa and Glen Wysel