The Nuclear Age Peace Foundation hosted its 34th Annual Evening for Peace on October 22, 2017 in Santa Barbara, California. The Foundation honored Dr. Ira Helfand and International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War with the 2017 Distinguished Peace Leadership Award.

Dr. Ira Helfand, MD, is co-President of the International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War (IPPNW), and a co-Founder and past President of Physicians for Social Responsibility, IPPNW’s U.S. affiliate. He has published studies on the medical consequences of nuclear war in the New England Journal of Medicine, the British Medial Journal, and the World Medical Journal, and has lectured globally on the health effects of nuclear weapons. In April 2012, he presented IPPNW’s report, Nuclear Famine: One Billion People at Risk, at the Nobel Peace Laureates Summit. When he’s not writing, speaking, listening, learning, and fundraising for nuclear abolition, he practices as an internist and urgent care physician.

IPPNW was founded in 1980 by U.S. and Soviet physicians who shared a commitment to the prevention of nuclear war, citing that doctors have an obligation to prevent what they cannot treat. IPPNW was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1985. This year, IPPNW played an instrumental role at the United Nations Conference to negotiate a Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons. For over 37 years, IPPNW has been practicing peace.

Click here for a MP3 audio recording of Dr. Helfand’s acceptance speech, or here for a written transcript. Photos of the event are available here. You can also watch it on video below.


Felix Aguilar, M.D., MPH
Ben Broder, M.D., Ph.D.
Steven Charles
Robert F. Dodge, M.D.
Chuck Genuardi, MSN
Gilberto Granados, M.D., MPH
Jimmy H. Hara, M.D.
Judith Lipton, M.D.
Diane Meyer Simon
Deborah Prothrow-Stith, M.D.
Jyoti Puvvula, M.D., MPH
Jose Quiroga, M.D.
Mara K. Sweeney, M.D.
Takashi Wada, M.D., MPH
Lisa Wysel


Jill Dexter, Chair
Suzan Garner
Sherry Melchiorre
Anne Schowe
Christina Schowe


Jill and Ron Dexter
Sarah and Chuck Genuardi
Jamal and Saida Hamdani
Diane Meyer Simon
Daniel Smith and Lucy Lee
Lisa Wysel and Dr. Glen Wysel

Student Table Sponsors

Fielding Graduate University
Sue Hawes
Diane Meyer Simon
Maryan Schall

Partners in Peace

Janna and Chuck Abraham
Gary Atkins Sound Systems
Boone Printing & Graphics
Rick Carter Photography
Gretchen Lieff and Lieff Wines
Hal Maynard and Sandy Jones
George Quirin
Sculpterra Winery and Sculpture Garden