Distinguished Peace Leadership Honorees

Setsuko Thurlow Setsuko Thurlow (2015), an atomic bomb survivor, was honored for her advocacy to abolish nuclear weapons.
Medea Benjamin Medea Benjamin (2014) was recognized for her bold and persistent challenges to the war system.
Rabbi Leonard Beerman Rabbi Leonard Beerman (2013) was honored for his interfaith leadership for peace, justice and nuclear disarmament.
Tony de Brum Senator Tony de Brum (2012) was honored for his efforts on behalf of the Marshall Island victims of nuclear testing.
tadatoshi_akiba Tadatoshi Akiba (2011) the former mayor of Hiroshima, was recognized for his leadership for a world free of nuclear weapons.
james_lawson Rev. James Lawson (2010) was honored for his lifelong commitment to nonviolence education and action.
glenn_paige Prof. Glenn Paige (2010) was honored for his personal transformation and leadership for a non-killing global society.
riane_eisler Riane Eisler (2009) was honored for her commitment to building a culture of peace through education, social justice, and gender equality.
george_regas Rev. George Regas (2008) was recognized for his interfaith leadership for peace, justice, and nuclear disarmament.
2007 Peter Yarrow, Paul (Noel) Stookey and Mary Travers (2007) were recognized for their activism and songs of peace and justice.
Blase Bonpane Blase Bonpane (2006) was honored as a persistent and eloquent voice for peace and justice.
daniel_ellsberg Daniel Ellsberg (2005) was recognized for his courageous stances against war, militarism, government secrecy and nuclear weapons.
 Walter Cronkite Walter Cronkite (2004) was honored for the high level of integrity he brought to broadcast journalism.
Jonathan Schell Jonathan Schell (2003) was recognized for his clear, intelligent and tireless voice for a nuclear weapons-free world.
Arthur N.R. Robinson His Excellency Arthur N.R. Robinson (2002), then President of Trinidad and Tobago, was honored for his key role in the creation of a permanent International Criminal Court.
Dr. Robert Woetzel (2002) was honored posthumously for his lifelong work to establish and International Criminal Court.
hafsat_abiola Hafsat Abiola (2001) was honored for her courage and strength in working for democracy and human rights in Africa.
 craig_kielburger Craig Kielburger (2001) was recognized for his leadership in working to end child exploitation and to empower youth around the world.
 King Hussein of Jordan His Majesty King Hussein of Jordan (2000) was honored posthumously for his tireless efforts to bring peace to the Middle East.
Gen. George Lee Butler General George Lee Butler (1999) was honored for his courageous and outspoken commitment to the abolition of nuclear weapons.
 Jody Williams Jody Williams (1998) was honored for her successful leadership of the International Campaign to Ban Landlines.
 Yehudi Menuhin Lord Yehudi Menuhin (1997) was honored for his outspoken advocacy of human dignity.
anne_paul_ehrlich Anne and Paul Ehrlich (1996) was honored for their work on environmental consequences of nuclear war.
theodore_hesburgh Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh (1995) was recognized for his distinguished service to humanity.
Helen Caldicott Dr. Helen Caldicott (1994) was honored for her courageous and inspirational efforts to end the nuclear arms race.
Carl Sagan Dr. Carl Sagan (1993) was recognized for his outspoken advocacy of peace and nuclear disarmament. 
mairead_maguire Mairead Corrigan Maguire (1992) was chosen for her moral leadership and commitment to social justice and nonviolence.
dalai_lama His Holiness the XIVth Dalai Lama, Tenzin Gyasto (1991), was selected for his advocacy of universal responsibility and nonviolence.
desmond_tutu Archbishop Desmond Tutu (1990) was recognized for his leadership in the non-violent struggle against apartheid. 
Jacques-Yves Cousteau Captain Jacques-Yves Cousteau (1989) as honored for his advocacy of ocean life and the rights of future generations.
David Russell Lange Right Honorable David Russell Lange (1988), then Prime Minister of New Zealand, and the people of New Zealand were recognized for creating and protecting New Zealand’s Nuclear-free status.
ted_turner R.E. “Ted” Turner (1987) was honored for innovative efforts in initiating the Goodwill Games and founding the Better World Society.
 Rodrigo Carazo Dr. Rodrigo Carazo (1986) was honored for his role in founding the U.N. University for Peace.
gene_larocque Admiral Gene R. LaRocque (1985) was acclaimed for his courage in proposing alternative U.S. security polices.
 Claiborne Pell Claiborne Pell (1984) was recognized for his direct dialogue with Soviet Leader Andropov when communications were not otherwise open between the U.S. and USSR.